Traffic Court

Seal of Nassau

Traffic

Criminal traffic laws are defined by the Florida Rules of Court as a violation that may subject a conviction including imprisonment in a county correctional facility. Please call the misdemeanor department at 904-548-4613 for dates and times of any special hearings. No children are allowed in the court room. Proper attire is required; no shorts allowed.

Contact Information
Phone – (904) 548-4600
TTD/TTY – Dial 711
Mailing Address: 76347 Veterans Way Yulee, FL, 32097

ADA

If you are a person with a disability who needs any accommodation in order to participate in this proceeding, you are entitled, at no cost to you, to the provision of certain assistance. Please contact the ADA Coordinator at (904)548-4600 press 0, at least 7 days before your scheduled court appearance, or immediately upon receiving this notification if the time before the scheduled appearance is less than 7 days; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call 711.

ADA Contact Information
Phone – (904) 548-4930
Fax – (904) 548-4949
TTD/TTY – Dial 711
E-Mail – jcarver@nassauclerk.com

Nassau County Clerk Customer Service

Please be advised that our Deputy Clerks cannot provide legal advice. [F.S. 28.215] We are not authorized to excuse you from attending a court hearing. If you have questions about your case that cannot be answered by simply reading the documents, please contact your attorney.
Clerk Customer Service Contact Number: 904-548-4608
Clerk Customer Service Mailing Address: 76347 Veterans Way, Yulee, FL 32097

Resources:

FAQ:

A Civil traffic infraction is a non-criminal violation, not punishable by jail and which usually can be disposed of by payment of a civil penalty or election to attend a basic driver improvement course. A court appearance is not required, except in cases where the violation involves an accident with serious bodily injury or a fatality, violations of leaving a child in a vehicle unattended, going more than 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, some littering (call the traffic department), and passing a school bus on the exit side.

Criminal traffic laws are defined by the Florida Rules of Court as a violation that may subject a conviction including imprisonment in a county correctional facility.

Payment can be made by mail or in person at the Clerk’s Office in the county in which the infraction occurred. Money orders and cashier’s checks are accepted through the mail. Personal checks are not accepted through he mail and will be sent back to the defendant. You must be present in the office to pay with a personal check and have a state issued ID for our office to obtain a copy to forward to our finance department.  Cash is also accepted in person at our office.

You can pay your traffic infraction at the courthouse located at:
76347 Veterans Way, Yulee FL 32097 or
416 Centre Street, Fernandina Beach FL 32034 (do not mail payments to this location).
The Clerk’s Office also accepts credit/debit cards, Visa, Master Card, American Express and Discover. There is a non-refundable charge of 3.5% as of July 1, 2009 to provide this service when using one of these cards. The Clerk’s Office does not receive any part of this fee.
Some citations can be paid online through myfloridacounty.com. If you are unable to find your infraction on this website you must call the office. There is a non-refundable charge of 3.5% as of July 1, 2009 to provide this service. The Clerk’s Office does not receive any part of this fee.

All Civil Traffic Infractions must be paid within 30 days from the date the ticket was issued according to Florida Statues, Chapter 318.14. Partial payments are accepted, and total amount must be paid in full within 30 days.  After 30 days, if the citation has not been paid, a delinquent fee of $23 will be added, your driver’s license will be suspended, and you will not be eligible to elect to attend the defensive driving course. Additionally, after 90 days the unpaid fees will be turned over to a collection agency and additional fees will be assessed.

You can set up a Payment Agreement with the Clerks’ Office for more time to pay your fine. There is a $25.00 service charge for the contract and this must be paid prior to the original due date and the service fee is nonrefundable. The amount of the fine will determine how much more time you will receive to pay your fine.  If you choose the payment agreement option, you will waive your right to a hearing. Please call the traffic department for more information regarding the payment agreement at 904-548-4608.

Any person charged with a moving traffic violation is eligible to elect to attend a driver improvement course. You may not elect to take a basic driver improvement course more than five times in your lifetime or more than once in a 12 month period. An election to attend a basic driver improvement course to satisfy the violation will be entered on your driver history records as an “adjudication withheld” and points will not be assessed against your driver’s license. You must make your election and pay the associated fines and costs to attend a driver improvement course in the county in which your ticket was issued.
You should contact the Traffic Department in the county in which you received your citation for the current penalty, or refer to the flyer provided by the officer at the time you were cited for the violation. After you complete and mail your election to the Clerk, contact a basic driver improvement school to arrange your class. You must enroll, attend, and complete the course approved by the Department of Highway Safety within 60 calendar days from the date you elected to attend (the date you signed the affidavit). You can refer to the yellow pages of your local telephone directory under “Driving Instruction or Traffic Schools” for names and locations. Or you can access a list of Basic Driver Improvement courses approved by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles at the following Web site: http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/bdis.html.

You must contact the traffic department within 30 days of the issuance date of your citation. Your case will be scheduled for a court date, and you will be advised when and where to appear. The officer who issued the citation and any other witnesses called by the officer will be present. You may also bring any witnesses you wish to testify on your behalf. If you are found guilty of a civil infraction, the court may assess a fine and court costs, order you to attend a defensive driving course, or impose other penalties. A suspension will be issued against your driver’s license and additional penalties will be imposed if you fail to comply with the courts order within the specified time period.

You must contact the traffic department within 30 days of the issuance date of your citation. Your case will be scheduled for a court date, and you will be advised when and where to appear. If you are found guilty of a civil infraction, the court may assess a fine and court costs, order you to attend a defensive driving course, or impose other penalties. A suspension will be issued against your driver’s license and additional penalties will be imposed if you fail to comply with the court’s order within the specified time period.

You may complete an Affidavit of Defense asking the Judge for consideration on your citation without setting a court date. You must make this option within 30 days of the issuance of your citation. The file will be sent to the Judge for his consideration. Once the Judge has reviewed your case we will notify you by mail of his decision.
Please contact the Traffic Department at 904-548-4608 for any of the options listed above.

The Clerk of Court does not have the authority to change names on original court records. The Office of the State Attorney should be contacted, at (904) 548-4700, if you suspect someone is using your name.

Close Menu
Translate »